Cinder Review

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series or standalone: Series (Lunar Chronicles #1)

Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Fantasy

Publisher & Date of Publication: Feiwel and Friends, 2012

Source: Library audiobook

Summary: “Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder’s brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it “a matter of national security,” but Cinder suspects it’s more serious than he’s letting on.

Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder’s intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that’s been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter’s illness, Cinder’s stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived.

But it doesn’t take long for the scientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for.” (Goodreads)

Review: Cinder is, hands down, one of the best books I’ve read in awhile. I’ve had my eye on the Lunar Chronicles for years, but I was skeptical. I don’t embrace sci-fi well, and, as much as I love fairytale retellings, I couldn’t get past that. However, I loved the world in Cinder. Meyer did a fantastic job world building.  New Beijing and the world order in Cinder were easy to imagine. As someone who does not typically dabble in sci fi and fantasy novels, I appreciated this.

The best aspect of Cinder was the characters. Cinder, Kai and Iko are so likeable and I grew very attached to them very quickly. Meyer also crafted her villains well. Queen Levana and Cinder’s stepmother are vile and I loved to hate them. I can’t wait to see what happens to them throughout the series. Cinder and Kai’s relationship was somewhat insta-lovey, but it worked. Given the circumstances of the novel, the insta-love fit, and I still completely bought the relationship. I was rooting for them from the moment they met.

The only flaw I found with this novel was the I had the twist/revelation predicted very early on. I saw it coming, but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book. Overall, I highly recommend this book.

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

