Book Shuffle Tag

Hi everyone, it’s Angela!

I saw this tag going around BookTube in 2014 and always thought it seemed fun, so I decided I wanted to give it a go. The link to the original video is set to private, but here is a video of padfootandprongs07 doing it. Basically what I’m going to do is set my iTunes and Spotify to shuffle (I promise I won’t skip!) and pick five books that go with the first five songs that play. I’ll also try to include a link to the song whenever possible. Because this tag can go in so many ways, I’ll probably do it every once in awhile.

*Disclaimer: My music taste is not very sophisticated, so please do not judge me!*
Let’s get started!

Hey Angel – One Direction

The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom.

This is the only book I own that has something in common with angels. Although the song is a lot peppier than the tone of this book, I think they do relate to each other because Eddie, the main character, does learn from five people who are technically angels.

Afire Love – Ed Sheeran

P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern.

This song is about Ed Sheeran’s grandfather’s battle with Alzheimer’s disease, but it does have an overall theme of losing someone you love. P.S. I Love You fits into that perfectly. It’s about a woman named Holly whose husband just died and her journey to just keep living and move on with life. I think these two fit pretty well together.

New Romantics – Taylor Swift

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy.

The lyric, “I could build a castle out of all the bricks they threw at me,” automatically made me think of Willowdean. This song and Dumplin’ are all about just owning who you are and I just feel like Willowdean would like this song.

Latch – Disclosure feat. Sam Smith

f7341-simonvs_quote_new

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

All I have to say is Simon and Blue. SIMON. AND. BLUE.

Single for the Summer – Sam Hunt

51Uc1YG4PHL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

The Vincent Boys Series by Abbi Glines.

This song is literally about a guy cheating on his girlfriend during the summer with “broken hearted rich girls” and that’s kind of what’s going on in this series. Plus the bad country boy vibe of this song is the same exact vibe you get from these books.
I had a lot of fun doing this, so I really hope you guys liked it. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Book Shuffle Tag

Leave a Reply

